Hoyle Campbell Visiting Professor 2008 Dr. Steven J McCabe

McCabe, Steven_DSC0119

Dr. Steven J McCabe, MD, FACS
Assistant Professor Department of Bioinformatics and Biostatistics
School of Public Health and Information Sciences
University of Louisville

Steve was born in Loring, Ontario, Canada and grew up in the small farming community of Dresden, Ontario. He spent his first 16 years planning a career in the National Hockey League. In high school, he enjoyed mathematics and thought about pursuing engineering, but was advised by his high school counselor, hockey coach, and mother to be a doctor. He graduated with a medical degree in 1980 from the University of Toronto and finished residency training in Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery four years later at the University of Western Ontario under the guidance of Robert MacFarlane. At Western, he developed a love for Hand Surgery and further trained at the University of Toronto with Jim Murray, and The University of Louisville, where he notes Harold Kleinert and Tsu Min Tsai were influential in his development. Returning as a faculty member to The University of Toronto for four years before moving back to Louisville to work at the Kleinert Institute and UofL in 1992, he has divided his energy between academic pursuits and the clinical practice of hand surgery. While working in Toronto, Steve studied at McMaster University in Hamilton Ontario, receiving a Masters of Science degree in Clinical Epidemiology, something he claims to have undertaken at the “suggestion” of Ralph Manktelow. He credits this degree with changing his life and bringing clarity and focus to his aspirations.

Steve’s interest has gravitated to the study of hand surgery from the perspective of the population. This has pointed him in the direction of carpal tunnel syndrome, an illness he claims to be the most fascinating upper extremity problem. He currently practices hand surgery at Louisville Arm and Hand, has a clinical appointment in the Department of Orthopaedic Surgery, and is the Director of Decision Science at the School of Public Health and Information Sciences at the University of Louisville. In 2007, he was awarded the University’s Distinguished Teaching Medal for his efforts. He is also active in the ASSH, AAHS, and is a Past President of the ASPN.

Dr. McCabe lives in Louisville, KY with his family. His oldest daughter has recently graduated from Queen’s University and his two younger children, Robert, and Meghan are in high school in Louisville. His hobbies now include reading and writing, walking with his wife Janette, and playing the violin (badly). He has recently retired from ice hockey, finishing his career in the men’s B league at Iceland Hockey Arena.

Hoyle Campbell Visiting Professor 2007 Dr. John A Persing

Dr. John A Persing, MD, FACS
Professor and Chief, Section of Plastic Surgery
Yale University of Medicine


Dr. Persing is Professor of Plastic Surgery and Neurosurgery at Yale University School of Medicine and Chief of Plastic Surgery at Yale University School of Medicine and Yale-New Haven Hospital. He received his medical degree at the University of Vermont and his residency training in Neurosurgery and in Plastic Surgery at the University of Virginia. His major clinical interests are related to craniofacial surgery and the treatment of problem vascular anomalies. He is the author or co author of more than 200 publications on these and other topics. His research has focused largely on the basic mechanisms in the development of cranial deformities in craniosynostosis and their subsequent treatments.

He has served as President of the American Society of Maxillofacial Surgeons, President of the American Association of Pediatric Plastic Surgeons, Chair of the Section of Plastic Surgery of the American Academy of Pediatrics, Chair of the Section of Plastic Surgery of the New York Academy of Medicine. He has been President of the American Association of Academic Chairmen of Plastic Surgery, and Chair of the American Board of Plastic Surgery. He served on the Board of Directors of the American Society of Plastic Surgeons and the North American Skull Base Surgery Society, and was a trustee of the International Craniofacial Surgery Society, and the American Association of Plastic Surgeons.

He is currently co-editor of The Journal of Craniofacial Surgery and has served on the editorial boards of The Journal of Plastic & Reconstructive Surgery, as Associate Editor, The Annals of Plastic Surgery, Cleft Palate Craniofacial Journal, amongst others.

Abstract: Craniosynostosis

The skull deformities associated with craniosynostosis are multi-varied. The individual treatments must reflect this multi-varied character. Comprehensive management of craniosynostosis disorders requires an understanding of not only the restrictive deformities of the skull, but also the compensatory abnormalities. By using this approach, a more complete and longer lasting correction of cranial deformities is seen and the potential for recurrence of deformity requiring reoperation is diminished. The author will describe the pathologies as well as the treatments of individual forms of craniosynostosis and the rationale for the selection of these approaches.

Abstract: Vascular Anomalies

The treatment of hemangiomas and arterial venous malformations in the head and neck region are challenging treatment problems. Despite medical advances, there are a number of patients with hemangioma deformities, particularly in early childhood who are optimally treated by surgical intervention, rather than delaying treatment until involutional stages have occurred. The techniques used and results of this survey will be described. Arteriovenous malformations require a different set of principles and management. Specifically, because AVM’s do not involute, they pose a high risk for continued growth and hemorrhage. Frequently, a more interventional approach is required. The steps for safe and comprehensive management to include preoperative embolization will be outlined.

Visiting Professors Through the Years

1986 – Present

2019 Dr. Rod J. Rohrich
2018 Dr. Andrea Pusic
2017 Dr. Patrick Maxwell
2016 Dr. Gary Burget
2015 Dr. Susan E. Mackinnon
2014 Dr. Paul Cederna
2013 Dr. Michael Neumeister
2012 Dr. Michael L. Bentz
2011 Dr. Joseph Losee
2010 Dr. Douglas Ross
2009 Dr. Don Lalonde
2008 Dr. Steven J. McCabe
2007 Dr. John A. Persing
2006 Dr. William M. Kuzon Jr.
2005 Dr. Steven Morris
2004 Dr. David M. Evans
2003 Dr. Ian T. Jackson

2002 Dr. Stephen J. Mathes
2001 Dr. Mary H. McGrath
2000 Dr. Neil Ford James
1999 Dr. Scott Spear
1998 Dr. Fu-Chan Wei
1997 Dr. Robert Goldwyn
1996 Dr. Paul Manson
1995 Dr. William Lineweaver
1994 Dr. Carolyn Kerrigan
1993 Dr. Winston Parkhill
1992 Dr. Earl Bogoch
1991 Dr. Dale Birdsell
1990 Dr. Richard Weisel
1989 Dr. V. I. Kalnins
1988 Dr. Stephen Miller
1987 Dr. Colin Baylis
1986 Dr. Charles Lumsden