Mentor Medical Systems Canada Graduate Scholarship in Plastic, Reconstructive & Aesthetic Surgery

This scholarship was made possible through the generous donation of $50,000 to the University of Toronto from Mentor Medical Systems Canada. In recognition of the importance of this donation, the University matched the donation dollar for dollar.

This resulted in a combined $100,000 endowment that will support, in perpetuity, the Mentor Medical Systems Canada Graduate Scholarship in Plastic, Reconstructive & Aesthetic Surgery at the University of Toronto. The award will be granted and administered in accordance with the University’s policy on student awards. Preference will be given to a graduate student who is a resident in the Division of Plastic, Reconstructive & Aesthetic Surgery in the Department of Surgery and who is pursuing studies in breast surgery, cosmetic surgery or tissue engineering. The annual income from the fund, less the portion added to the capital base, is protection against inflation and will be made available by the University of Toronto to provide the funding for student aid in accordance with the conditions specified in the original agreement between the University of Toronto and Mentor Medical Systems Canada. As such, the amount of the award will vary on an annual basis.

Typically, this award is given to the resident in the first year of the Surgeon Scientist Program. Only residents enrolled in the Surgeon Scientist Program are eligible for this award. In order for the resident to receive the award, the Division of Plastic, Reconstructive & Aesthetic Surgery requires the following information:

  1. A letter of intent from the resident, addressed to  the Chair, applying for the scholarship,
  2. A research proposal from the resident,
  3. A curriculum vitae from the resident,
  4. A letter from Division Chair to Department of Surgery Chair confirming that the resident has been awarded the scholarship.

Deadline for submission of the scholarship application:  Spring of each year.

Residents awarded this scholarship to date include:

Award Winners

Dr. Darby Little
Title of Research Protocol: “Access to Primary Care and Long-Term Outcomes in Severe Burn Injury Patients”

Supervisors: Dr. B Haas, Dr. S Mason


Dr. Karen Chung
Title of Research Protocol: “The Health and Economic Burden of Cleft Lip and/or Palate (CLP) and the Cost-Effectiveness of Cleft Care in Ethiopia”

Supervisors: Dr. CR Forrest, Dr. B Sander


Dr. Mélissa Roy
Title of Research Protocol: “Health Literacy and Decision Making in Patients with Dupuytren’s”

Supervisors: Drs. SJ McCabe, DR Urbach, K Okrainec, Herb vonSchroeder, CB Novak

Dr. Hélène Retrouvey
Title of Research Protocol: “Understanding and Reducing Barriers to Postmastectomy Breast Reconstruction in Ontario: Closing the Gap”

Supervisor: Dr Toni Zhong


Dr. Natalia Ziolkowski
Title of Research Protocol: “Developing a Patient-Reported Outcome Instrument for Paediatric Surgical, Burn, and Traumatic Scars”

Supervisor: Dr. Joel Fish


Dr. Dale Podolsky
Title of Research Protocol: “Development of a Robotic Approach to Cleft Palate Repair”

Dr. Christopher R. Forrest and Dr. James Drake


Dr. Kathleen Armstrong
Title of Research Protocol: “Replacing ambulatory clinic follow-up with remote home monitoring using smartphones in breast reconstruction patients: Is it cost-effective?”

Supervisor: Dr. John Semple


Dr. Joseph Catapano
Title of Research Protocol: “Enhancement of nerve regeneration with aminopropyl carbazoles following nerve injury.”

Supervisor: Dr. Gregory Borschel


Dr. James Michael Hendry
Title of Research Protocol: “The Role of the ErbB2/Neuregulin Signaling Network in Regulating Acute or Chronic Nerve Regeneration and its application to the Protection Provided by Side-to-side Nerve Bridges”.

Supervisor: Dr. Gregory Borschel


Dr. Jennica Platt
Title of the Research Protocol: Patterns of Care for Breast Reconstruction in Ontario: A Population Based Study.

Supervisor: Dr. Nancy Baxter

2010-2011 Dr. Siba Haykal
Title of the Research Protocol: “Trachael Regeneration for Repair of Circumferential Airway Defects”.

Supervisors: Dr. Thomas Waddell and Dr. Stefan Hofer

2009-2010 Nil
2008-2009 Nil
2007-2008 Dr. Kristen Davidge
Title of the Research Protocol: “Function and Health Status Following Soft Tissue Reconstruction for Limb Preservation in Extremity Soft Tissue Sarcoma.”

Supervisor: Dr. Aileen Davis

2006-2007 Dr. Karen Cross
Title of the Research Protocol: “Serial Monitoring of Burn Wound Viability using Near Infrared Spectroscopy: An Interim Report”.

Supervisors: Dr. Joel Fish, Dr. Lorenzo Leonardi


Dr. Daniel Martin
Title of the Research Protocol: “Optimizing Wound Healing: Angiogenesis in a Synthetic Skin Substitute.”

Supervisors: Dr. John Semple and Dr. Michael Sefton


Dr. Karen Cross
Title of the Research Protocol: “Histopathologic Diagnosis of Burn Wound Depth.”

Supervisors: Drs. Joel Fish, W Hanna, L Leonardi, Manuel Gomez


Dr. Allan Eckhaus
Title of the Research Protocol: “Artificial Skin Vascularization with Polymer Beads: an in vivo Model of Angiogenesis.”

Supervisors: Drs. Michael Sefton, Joel Fish


Dr. Cory Goldberg
Title of the Research Protocol: “Bone Engineering in a Rabbit Craniotomy Defect with PLGA-Calcium Phosphate Foam.”

Supervisors: Drs. Jeffrey Fialkov, JE Davies


Dr. Kyle Wanzel
Title of the Research Project: “Needs Assessment and Development of an Educational Tool for Reconstructive Breast Surgery.”

Supervisors: Drs. Mitch Brown, G Regehr, DJ Anastakis